The 2017 Racing Season

Season-long Competitions

These are the SVTTA trophy, shield and award winners for the 2017 season.
Note that event cancellations in 2017 led to may awards not being presented.

The Timetrial Secretary's report on the season can be read here as can the list of all Standards Awards.

Championship Events

8th. October
Bill Lennon trophy - Tour de Trossachs
The 80 starters on paper were reduced by 22 DNS on the day. The weather kept dry although the riders reported a lot of wet patches.
The gremlins were out with traffic lights on the Thornhill section meaning that the course was cut short by 4 miles and directed over
the Braes.
Championship result

30th. July
Pinky Williams trophy - SVTTA 30 mile championship
A clear win by almost 2 minutes for Gala C.C.'s Andrea Pogson, the only rider thus far to win more than one 2017 SVTTA championship, in a time that bettered the current SC senior and veteran 30 mile TT records.  
30 mile championship result.

2nd. July
Ben Smith Trophy - SVTTA 25 mile championship
A decisive win in our 25 mile championship by David Millar, returning from injury. Davie becomes the seventh winner of an SVTTA championship so far this year but this time the margin was emphatic and we might expect his name to at the top again over an extra 5 miles at our 30 mile championship at the end of the month.  Thanks to the Law Wheelers for running this event on what was a very windy day with the riders battling uphill and upwind to the dead turn at Buchlyvie before being blown back home to the finish.
25 mile championship result.

18th. June
Harry Roberts Trophy - SVTTA 50 mile championship

Congratulations to Christine McLean on winning the Harry Roberts Trophy on a windy day in Fife, a week ahead of her participation in the Island Games in Sweden. That now makes 6 different winners of our championships so far this year so we are witnessing very close competition. It was a pleasure to see thirty six Scottish Group members on the start sheet at Alistair’s Memorial eventThe Speed family name goes back a long way in the SV.T.T.A. with Archie Speed in the early sixties then Alistair joining him when he reached the magical age. Now Mhairi and husband Brian with son Gavin keep the tradition going.
Result here.

11th. June
John Cramb Trophy - SVTTA 25 mile handicap championship

Congratulations to Jim Robb on winning the Cramb Trophy. Although not a great day Boabsawheeler reports that 14 riders went under the hour on a wet and breezy morning. The Group sends their thanks to Bob for organising this event. The open event went to Kyle Gordon with a time of 52:49, a course record by 40 seconds.
Result PDF here.

Jackie Connor Trophy and Jim Lyon Trophy
In Poor weather conditions at the Tom Anderson Memorial road race, run by Falkirk B.C, Mark Skilling of Carrick C.C. won the Jackie Connor RR Trophy and Sandy Wallace of Fife Century won the Jim Lyon Trophy.

13th. May - Jim & Betty Train trophy - SVTTA 10 mile championship
A reversal of the top two placings from last month's 15 mile championship, with Brian Muir taking third place. Before the day it looked like a 'done deal' for Andrea Pogson with 2:04 on standard over Steve Nutley and the gap between the two being only 1:28 and 1:13 in the preceding 10TTs, but on the day it was a close result with the Gala C.C. rider taking the championship by just 8 seconds. As in the 15 mile championship Gordon Murdoch posted the fastest SVTTA time.
Result PDF here.

16th. April - Speed Family trophy - SVTTA 15 mile championship

A bitterly cold day with a NW wind and the mercury struggling to reach 4.5 degrees and then falling back some as the rain started just as the event got underway. Back at the strip afterwards numb extremities, shivering and shaking were the order of the day. Steve Nutley, returning to racing after almost 3 years away, won the SVTTA championship and Speed Family Trophy ahead of first female Andrea Pogson, while Gordon Murdoch in third posted the fastest time of all the SVTTA riders.
Click here for the result PDF.

  Site Map