The 2013 Racing Season

Season-long Competitions

Result of the Best All Rounder competition over the 25, 50 and 100 mile distances:

The complete B.A.R. result can be downloaded here: Best All Rounder - Eddy Taylor Trophy

Archie Speed Trophy
Deeside Thistle's Derek Stewart once again retains the Archie Speed Trophy over the 10, 25 and 50 mile distances.

Full Archie Speed Trophy table here.

SVTTA Trophies
These are the SVTTA trophy winners for 2013.

This table can be downloaded in pdf format here.

Championship Events

6th. October - The Bill Lennon Trophy - Tour de Trossachs
Although overcast the rain held off until the last of the 92 riders had finished.
48 competitors were over 40 years of age, 18 of those being members of the SVTTA.

Shetland Wheelers' Carlos Riise won the trophy and was also fastest SVTTA veteran on the day.

The result can be viewed here.

Photo credit: Paris-Roubaix, Braveheart

4th. August - The Harry Roberts Trophy - SVTTA 50 mile championship
The 50 this year was on a modified version of Aberdeen District's A90 course: the AB50S/2 covered the same roads as the usual AB50S/1 but started and finished at the northern end near Stonehaven. The riders were I'm sure grateful to be tackling the climb out of Stonehaven with fresh legs.
The event saw the 4th. win of the year so far for Derek Stewart.

SVTTA result here.

14th. July - The Pinky Williams Trophy - SVTTA 30 mile championship
Another win on standard for Derek Stewart of Deeside Thistle in the 30 on the Blairdrummond course.

Result here

9th. July - The Reilly and J.Sharp Trophies - SVTTA 100 mile championship
These competitions were held on the Fordoun/Stonehaven/Stracathro [AB100S/1] course in Aberdeen district on 7th. July.
After a 7.00am start in near perfect conditions it became a bit breezy which made it a bit of a battle over the second lap of the 2 x 50ml lap course
At halfway Perth’s Steve Cairns had a 15sec edge on Carlos Riise (Shetland Wheelers) with Granite City’s Keith Robertson a mere 1min further back
It was always going to be about the finish and it was Carlos who retained the form required to take the win on scratch.
The Reilly Trophy was fittingly won by Shetland Wheelers' Christine McLean with a scratch time of 4h 27min 24sec a +55min 16sec on age standard at 52years.
The SVTTA handicap Jim Sharpe trophy will be in the custody of Graeme Hay, Stirling Bike Club, for the next year with a fine 4h 8min 52sec, a mere 5sec beating on handicap of local 76yr old Derek Stewart.

Read all about it.

30th. June - Ben Smith Trophy - SVTTA 25 mile championship
On the same day as this event 26 of our members were 'away' competing in the Scottish Cycling 50 mile championship.
This fact plus some DNSs, due possibly to the early 07:00 start (it's that safari park traffic again..),  meant that there was a somewhat depleted field.
A brisk SW'ly wind blowing across the Blairdrummond course didn't, however, prevent some good times being posted.
Ben Smith trophy winner Derek Stewart was especially pleased as he had been off the bike for three weeks while away holidaying in Russia.

SVTTA result here.

15th. June - John Cramb Trophy - SVTTA 25 mile handicap
In our 25 mile handicap championship held on 15th. June, Glasgow Couriers' Jim Cusick was fastest on the day recording 54:54.  Winner on handicap was Steve MacLuskie of VC Glasgow South.

Click here for the result.

19th. May - Jim and Betty Train Trophy - SVTTA 10 mile championship
Congratulations to Deeside Thistle's Derek Stewart who at Cambusbarron today took the 10 mile championship trophy into his care for the next 12 months.
Although today was not as cold as some racing days of late, the weather was hardly kind with persistent mist and drizzle and a gentle but somehow 'heavy' wind from the East making the homeward leg quite tough, or annoying at least..
The traffic however was as light as I have have known it on the course - perhaps everyone has given up on summer ever arriving.
Last year's holder of the trophy, Davie Millar, rode into second place on standard with Steve Nutley third and fastest veteran.
First team on Standard were Deeside Thistle, although they will have to wait for the dosh as the Sandy Wallace boys took it home with them!

Today's times can be found here.

5th. May - The Boomerang Trophy
This event attracted its biggest entry yet and was in fact oversubscribed. Of those lucky enough to make it onto the start sheet all but one team made it to the start on a day featuring a very cold west wind.
In an event largely dominated by fast veterans, Dooleys' Davie Gibson emerged as winner, also coming second in the open event to SVTTA member Iain Grant.
This year the course was shortened by a couple of miles with competitors turning at the first Stirling roundabout, so comparisons with previous years' record times cannot be made.

Full results of the SVTTA competition here.

  Site Map