The 2012 Racing Season

Season-long Competitions

Result of the Best All Rounder competition over the 25, 50 and 100 mile distances:

The complete B.A.R. result can be downloaded here: Best All Rounder - Eddy Taylor Trophy

Archie Speed Trophy
Deeside Thistle's Derek Stewart retains the Archie Speed Trophy over the 10, 25 and 50 mile distances.

Download the complete table here: Archie Speed Trophy.

SVTTA Trophies
These are the SVTTA trophy winners for 2012.

This table can be downloaded in pdf format here.

SVTTA Championship Events

7th. October - The Bill Lennon Trophy - Tour de Trossachs

Jim Cusick was both fastest veteran on the day and fastest on standard, the latter achievement winning him the Bill Lennon Trophy with a +12:49.

Sadly the event had to be stopped following an accident between a rider and a car but of the SVTTA members racing only Tam Gordon and Iain Grant were affected and recorded DNFs.

Results here.
A full race report with excellent pictures can be found on VeloVeritas.

2nd. September - The Reilly and J.Sharp Trophies - SVTTA 100 mile Championship
Sadly this event was cancelled due to lack of entries.

29th. July - John Cusker Trophy - 12 hour championship
As usual our 12 hour riders had to head south for their fix and these results were recorded at the CTT 12 hour championship.

15th. July - Pinky Williams Trophy - SVTTA 30 mile championship
Our 30 mile championship was run on the Blairdrummond course on a fair day although with a strongish wind. The results can be found here.

1st. July - Ben Smith Trophy - SVTTA 25 mile championship
On a cool, sometimes misty and mostly still day it was Glasgow Couriers' Davie Millar who took the Ben Smith Trophy with an impressive '56'. Derek Stewart and Christine McLean filled the remaining the podium places.  The event was run over the 2 lap Stirling course which passes through many roundabouts and thanks must go to Stirling Bike Club for a well-marshalled race.
SVTTA member Iain Grant rode fastest overall to win the Scottish Cycling championship, his second of the year so far.

The committee would like to apologise to those SVTTA members who were unable to get a start in the event. It transpires that, due to the event being run in conjunction with the SC championship, the entry was over-subscribed and the field was selected on outright merit without due regard to performance against age standards. Please rest assured that this matter has been addressed and there should be no such problem in next year's event.

Results here.
The VeloVeritas report of the SC 25 mile championship (run concurrently) can be found here.

16th. June - John Cramb Trophy - SVTTA 25 mile handicap
Robert Ivell of Perth United won the John Cramb trophy on handicap, on yet another cool, wet and windy summer's day.
The full results of all the competitions can be found here with the SVTTA result here.
Please note an error in the original results: Elaine Lowden succumbed to a puncture at 15 miles but was recorded as DNS. Results on both this site and on Braveheart have now been corrected.

3rd. June - Harry Roberts Trophy - SVTTA 50 mile championship
Another cold and windy day greeted the riders as they converged on Fordoun hall alongside the A90, where the stiff and increasing NE'ly wind was going to make it a tough day out on this windswept and rolling course. The open event was won by Carlos Riise who gave a masterclass in '50' pacing, holding enough back to pull out a 2 minute lead over the last upwind (and mostly uphill..) 12 mile leg back from the turn at Stracathro.  

Full SVTTA result here.
Report on Scottish Cycling website here.

20th. May - Jim & Betty Train Trophy - SVTTA 10 mile championship
The event was run by Law Wheelers on a largely still day although cold with an early frost and mist lying along the Kippen flats. The new standards produced a close result in the fight for the trophies, with the mens and womens competitions being decided by 3 and 6 seconds respectively.

Full SVTTA result here.
Report on Scottish Cycling website here.

6th. May - The Boomerang Trophy
This event attracted a strong entry of 46 teams, 44 of which started on the day, which dawned cold with a mix of sunshine and hail showers.
Despite the best efforts of Dooleys Cycles' Tam Gordon and Iain Grant, who blitzed the record for the 24 mile out-and-back course, the trophy was won by Couriers' Davie Millar paired with team-mate Jim Cusick.  2011 trophy winner Derek Stewart had to be content with second place on the day under the new standards.

The full result of the veterans competition (including non-SVTTA teams) can be found here.

The course record has now fallen every year since 2007 as detailed below:

    2007     David Gibson         52:12
    2008     Graeme Cockburn  52:11
    2009     Chris Bown            51:24
    2010     David Gibson         51:03
    2011     Steve Nutley          50:19
    2012     Tam Gordon          49:13

Anyone hoping to continue that sequence next year had better start training now though as the Gordon/Grant time of 49:13 looks fast enough to endure for some time to come.
(Note: following a course change for 2013 onwards this record will now stand for the old course).                                                     

  Site Map