The 2011 Racing Season

Season-long competitions

Result of the 2011 Best All Rounder competition over the 25, 50 and 100 mile distances:

The complete B.A.R. result can be downloaded here:
Best All Rounder - Eddy Taylor Trophy

Archie Speed Trophy
This year's Archie Speed Trophy, the short B.A.R. over 10, 25 and 50 miles, was won by Derek Stewart ahead of Jocky Johnstone and A.B.G.Washington.

The full table of places 1 to 29 in PDF format is available here: Archie Speed Trophy result

SVTTA Trophies
These are the SVTTA trophy winners for 2011.

This table can be downloaded in PDF format here.

Age Records
Our Records Secretary, Bob Gibson, reports that 24 new Group records were established in 2011 and will be submitted to the VTTA. To view the table giving details of these new records in 2012 click here.

The resulting records table for the Scottish Group as of the start of 2012 can be seen on the National VTTA site here.

SVTTA Championship events

2nd October - The Bill Lennon Trophy - Tour de Trossachs
This event continues to attract a strong field from both pure time triallists and roadmen alike, to test themselves over the hills and bone-shaking road surfaces of the Trossachs course.

The open event was won by Arthur Doyle, who will race as a veteran for the first time next season.

The Bill Lennon Trophy was retained by Steve Nutley from Sandy Wallace Cycles despite puncturing at half distance, with Jocky Johnstone a close second place on standard. Fastest veteran on the day was Jim Cusick in 1:11:16.

Results here

4th. September - The Riley Trophy - 100 mile Championship
Bob Gibson's new course on the A90 was predicted to be fast in the right conditions and Phil Kelman (fastest overall) narrowly missed recording the fastest 100 in Scotland this year. Sandy Wallace Cycles' Steve Beech took the honours on standard, winning the Riley Trophy in a time of 4:13:31, comfortably ahead of Derek Stewart.

First team on standard were Deeside Thistle CC – Derek Stewart & Phil Kelman.

At the same event, Graeme Hay from Stirling Bike Club won his first SVTTA trophy: the Jim Sharpe Handicap Trophy.

Results here

21st. August - The Harry Roberts Trophy - 50 mile Championship
On a calm and fairly warm day a good field assembled at Blairdrummond hall to compete in the SVTTA 50 for the Harry RobertsTrophy. Despite the course record falling twice within 20 minutes this event will always be remembered, quite rightly, for 'that' ride by Shetland Wheelers' Carlos Riise: 50 miles without a seatpost and saddle is a noteworthy achievement indeed! Speaking to Carlos afterwards, he said that he realised that something was amiss when the bike bag went on the airport scales and weighed 1.5kg less than usual.

First place on standard went to Derek Stewart who recorded 2:05:33 and many PBs were set further down the field on what turned out to be a brisk day. Full SVTTA result below.

First team on standard were Sandy Wallace Cycles – Steve Beech & Steve Nutley.

SVTTA result
Open result

14th. August - John Cusker Trophy - 12 hour Championship
Results here

17th. July - Pinky Williams Trophy - 30 mile Championship
This year the 30 Mile Championship returned to its ancestral home of Stirling after a one year sojourn to Aberdeenshire due to roadworks on the course last year. The weather was mild with not much wind, intermittent rain and wet roads. One rider (Steve Cairns, Perth United) hit the road at a roundabout and ended up with a few cuts and broken aero bars. Fortunately, there was a marshall nearby who was able to drive rider and bike back to race HQ. 

The Pinky Williams trophy for best SVTTA member on standard was retained by Derek Stewart who is not just an exceptional cyclist: his good looks and cheery nature have got him involved in working with Aberdeen City council in promoting activities for the 50+ age group. You can spot him dancing, dining, modelling and cycling on documents which can be downloaded via

Results here

19th. June  - Ben Smith & John Cramb Trophies
Ben Smith 25 mile championship result
John Cramb 25 mile handicap result

22nd. May - Jim & Betty Train - 10 mile Championship
Results here

1st. May - Boomerang Trophy
For this event, a 24 mile 2-up from Thornhill into Stirling and back, organiser Iain Binning attracted a good field of 44 team entries. The weather was kind, although the wind did strengthen throughout the course of the event.

Photo by Stuart Easton

Boomerang Trophy winner was Derek Stewart of Deeside Thistle, partnered by Royal Albert CC's John Campbell, with +27.54. 2nd and 3rd respectively fell to Bob Taylor of Dooleys Cycles with +24.37 and Robert Cooper of hosts Stirling Bike Club with +23.24.

Fastest overall were Steve Nutley & Joe Wilson of Sandy Wallace Cycles in a time of 50.19, whilst fastest woman was Vicky Begg of Johnstone Wheelers in 56.41.

Boomerang Trophy result


  Site Map